top of page

Lions and tigers and Limited Atonement, oh my!

What's up, People!? This is Blake, your friendly neighborhood blogger, back at it today. Today we are gonna talk about Limited Atonement, which is the "L" in the Doctrines of Grace acrostic "TULIP". This is typically the most controversial point of this theology, and people are often confused by what it means. I hope to help explain it in an easy to understand way and support it bionically (duh ;)).

What is it?

This doctrine is mainly concerned with God's original plan, purpose, or design in sending Christ to the world to die on the cross. Did God send his son to die to make everyone who ever lived savable, but with the possibility that no one would be saved, or did he have a plan from all eternity, according to his grace and mercy and election, to save his people from their sins? This is the basic question we must ask. Was the atonement limited, either in its efficacy, or in its intent? Also, as an aside, I love stuff like this. It makes my inner nerd happy! People don't think about things like this normally.

Some people prefer to call it Definite Atonement because it speaks of the design of God to save his elect. As Christ says in the book of John, he is the Good shepherd. We hear his voice and follow him. He lays down his life for his sheep. This is a great scriptural example of him having a people. John 10:11-14.

What does the bible say?

Let's look at some verses that express the intent of the atonement, as this is important to our topic today! In Matthew 1:21, an angel of the lord appears to Joseph and tells him that Mary will bear a son, "21 She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.” Here we see that he has a people that he will save. Jesus came with a mission. In John 17, Jesus is praying to the father and he says, "9 I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. 10 All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them." He says many such statements in this chapter of John, such as "to give eternal life to all whom you have given him", or "those you have given me out of the world". These statement from Jesus seem to be describing a specific people.

God saves the whole world.

Now we are going to discuss verses such as John 3:16 above, which is one of my favorite verses of all time! How does God love the world or save the world if he has a specific people? In John, he speaks of those given to him out of the world, as mentioned above. In Revelation 5:9, I believe that this mystery is cleared right up, "9 And they sang a new song, saying,“Worthy are you to take the scroll and to open its seals,for you were slain, and by your blood you ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation". It is easy to see how God has a people from every tribe, tongue, and nation for himself. He has sheep all around the world and it is amazing to be a part of bringing them into the fold! Even in John 3:16 it is the believing ones who have eternal life. They are the sheep.

Practical Importance

One practical truth that follows this, and it's b-e-a-utiful (Thank you, Jim Carrey), is that my salvation is accomplished by Christ. John Divito from Founders Ministries exquisitely pens, "Christ fully accomplished my salvation on the cross. As one chosen by God, He sent His Son to save me from my sin. In love, He sent His Son to live a life of righteousness for me. In love, He sent His Son to receive my condemnation in my place through His death on the cross. In love, He sent His Son to exchange my sin and unrighteousness for Christ’s obedience and righteousness. I have been saved through the sacrifice of Christ!". I was raised believing that God made me savable, as I am sure most people reading this blog were as well. In the South, where I was born and raised, this view we are discussing today isn't really taught. But, I don't need a potential savoir, I need an actual savoir, and Glory be to God, that is what Christ is. Apart from him and what his atonement accomplished, I have no hope.

The implication brought about by this view of the atonement that brings me the most peace, is that my salvation doesn't depend on me. Since Christ saves me completely, and since it is by grace and faith, which are both gifts, my salvation doesn't depend on me. If my salvation depends on me in any way, even a little, I am in trouble. If you remember what we have learned about Total Depravity and Unconditional Election, then this logically follows and makes sense. We were enslaved to sin, then God chose us by his grace, then he saved us by his son. This is a part of theology that gives me so much peace. I don't want my salvation to depend on me. I believe that if I could lose my salvation, I would. If people say otherwise, I wonder if they are being honest. God's standard is absolute perfection. Think about that.

Wrap it up.

Limited, or definite atonement is all about God giving Christ a people. Jesus is glorified through his sheep, and he payed for their sins, and took away the wrath of God and the punishment that was due to them. Jesus had a mission! The cross wasn't plan B, it was the plan. He is mighty to save and he does save completely. Grace and faith are amazing gifts, and we hear his voice because we are his sheep.

The gospel is to be preached universally. Anyone who puts their trust in Christ will receive the full measure of the benefits of the atonement. Those who believe and repent of their sins (gifts from God) are his sheep and will receive the merit of the atonement of Christ. I hope this blesses, challenges, and encourages you. I would love to hear feedback or have interactions with anyone who reads this post! Next time we will go over the "I" in "TULIP", irresistible grace. And can I get a big ole "GLORY" because it is spring time at last! Until next time, this is Blake, signing out!

Short video talking about people not understanding Limited Atonement.

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page