top of page

An Introduction to Reformed Theology and TULIP


A picture of a tulip with the the acronym "TULIP" explaining the basic tenants of reformed theology.

November 13th, 1618, before the pilgrims landed on the golden shores of 'Merica, members of the Dutch Reformed Church, as well as people from Scotland, the British isles, and continental Europe, were gathering in the Netherlands to convene the Synod of Dort. The purpose of this Synod was to settle the controversy of arminianism. These beliefs arose from the followers of Jacob Arminius during the Twelve Years' Truce in the Dutch and Spanish War. There was political tension in the air because the arminains, also know as the Remonstrants (see The Remonstracne of 1610) were more willing to compromise with Spain, where as the dutch calvinists (reformed) were not. For this reason, many saw the arminains as treasonous. They were known as the Remonstrants because they were protesting their own orthodox reformed theological heritage. They came up with five points, or articles to express their doctrine. The Synod of Dort, in response, laid down five core theological beliefs that are now known as the acrostic "TULIP". The five points are total depravity, unconditional election, limited atonement, irresistible grace, and perseverance of the saints.

A picture of the Synod of Dort. A large conference hall with many men gathered.

There is far more to reformed theology than these five points, which we can get to in the future, such as church confessions and other theological elements. In this post I just want to set up the historical background and starting point that I was shown when I began to learn about this christian theological system. I also want to say, as I often do, that I know and love many amazing christian brothers and sisters who do not share my particular theological view, and that is totally okay. The bible is bigger than any system man can dream up to explain the knowledge there in, as is God himself. As long as you confirm the same primary foundations of the faith and are working for the kingdom, you're my family in Christ-100! I do believe that theology matters and can play out in major areas of our lives. I think some people have never been given an apt description of what reformed theology is really all about.

Next time we will discuss total depravity, the first point of TULIP. Check my last blog post if you haven't had a chance as the Sovereignty of God absolutely lays the groundwork for all christian systems of thought.

By God's grace (literally) I will do my best to simply convey the basics of this system to you, I'm not an exhaustive source or expert. I will share how it is has affected my life and those around me in a positive way. My even greater hope is that this study can draw you closer to Christ and make you hunger for his word even more. That is what it did to me, friends! Remember, God's grace is what saves you, it is what frees you. Until next time, home boys and home girls. Ciao!

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page