top of page
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon

Unconditional Election- I choose you!


Hello, freinds! Welcome back to Freeing Grace. This week we are going to continue our series studying the Doctrines of Grace. Today it's all about unconditional election. Pikachu is very cute, but there is more to this intro! In the process of election, God says "I choose you" much like Ash Ketchum in this picture.

As ligonier states, "The Reformed view of election, known as unconditional election, means that God does not foresee an action or condition on our part that induces Him to save us. Rather, election rests on God’s sovereign decision to save whomever He is pleased to save.". I love this definition of the term unconditional election.

Many Christians believe in election, but the question is "On what basis are we elected?". Some say that it is based on divine foreknowledge of who would have faith in Christ. The reformed faith holds that it is based on God's choice and for his own good pleasure.

John 1:12 But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, 13 who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.

The above scripture is a great example, of many, that shows that his children are born of his will. One thing that is cool, is most people, regardless if they agree on the basis of election, agree that the doctrines of election and predestination are taught in the bible. Read Ephesians 1:4–5 , and Mark 13:20 for two examples of the ideas of predestination, election, and adoption found in scripture. These doctrines and concepts tie into many great truths of the faith which we will examine at a later date.

Roman's Ch. 9 is probably the clearest example of this concept in the bible. It is tough when you read it the first time because it seems unfair, and I understand that, but it is very important to remember to have a biblical view of man (see post on Total Depravity ) to understand this. Fair would be giving us the justice we all so rightfully deserve as rebels against a perfect, holy God. God doesn't owe any of us grace or mercy, but he is loving and kind! Thank goodness for that. Paul begins the chapter talking about how he is aching for his people, the Israelites. He begins to talk about how who is "Israel" isn't who is descended from Israel. He says that it is the offspring of the promise, not the offspring of the flesh who are children of God. Paul expounds upon his point by discussing the story of Jacob and Esau, Romans 9:9 For this is what the promise said: “About this time next year I will return, and Sarah shall have a son.” 10 And not only so, but also when Rebekah had conceived children by one man, our forefather Isaac, 11 though they were not yet born and had done nothing either good or bad—in order that God’s purpose of election might continue, not because of works but because of him who calls— 12 she was told, “The older will serve the younger.” 13 As it is written, “Jacob I loved, but Esau I hated.” emphasis added The first time I read this it made me mad, and I said "well that's not fair"! My view of man needed a bit of work and I was still discovering the

sovereignty of God. What is kind of funny though, is that Paul knows this is the human response, and he rhetorically addresses it in the following verses, 14 What shall we say then? Is there injustice on God’s part? By no means! 15 For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.” 16 So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy. 17 For the Scripture says to Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I might show my power in you, and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” 18 So then he has mercy on whomever he wills, and he hardens whomever he wills. He then goes on to talk about how we are the clay and

that God is the potter. A clay vessel cannot talk to the one who made it and ask why it was made the way it was. We are made for various uses. To me these verses are very humbling, and put me in my place as a mere human being. I am glad that we have a good potter!

There are several misconceptions concerning this doctrine of election. This does not teach that God is capricious, or random. His choice and reasons are for him alone to decide. We do know that it pleases God, so it must be good and just. And anyone who turns from their sin and places their faith in Christ will find him to be a perfect savoir.

Some people think this teaching stifles evangelism, but in reality, it can give so much more life, meaning, and purpose to it! God has ordained a people to salvation and the means of salvation-namely preaching the Gospel (Romans 1:16; Romans 10:14-17). These two verses show how we are empowered in spreading the word of God. The word has it's own power and it never returns void. It always accomplishes it's intended mission. You don't have to be concerned with a weak, or improper view of God, where he is just trying to save everyone. What he wants, he gets. End of story. 2 Timothy 2:10 Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they also may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus with eternal glory. All we have to do is be faithful and share freely with everyone, because anyone could be one of Christ's sheep. We do not know who the elect are, which is probably a good thing! We can preach the word, confident that God will use it to draw to himself the elect. That is such a burden lifted off your shoulders if you share the gospel with people, or preach, or teach. That is very freeing once it sinks in, and it should be, because we were never-intended-to-bear-that-weight. How wonderful! :) Let out that sigh of relief.

There will not be people in Hell that wanted to be saved, but couldn't because they weren't elect. Apart from God's supernatural work in our lives, we all reject God and rebel against him. What unconditional election does recognize is that God graciously intervenes in the lives of the elect and through the work of the Holy Spirit, enables them to respond in faith to him. It is beautiful that God actually frees our wills, which were previously enslaved to sin (see the last blog post) and enables us to choose the things of God. Then, we hear his voice and follow him (John 10:1-30).

Wrap it up!

The doctrine of unconditional election, especially when considered along with predestination, is clearly shown throughout the pages of scripture. It really makes sense in the theological system of reformed theology when one considers Total Depravity, and the following points we will discuss soon. I know this may be the very first time some of you have even heard about this or read Romans 9. I know you may be shocked, or maybe it all makes sense to you. Different people handle it various ways. Some of you may reject it entirely. I don't want to make you believe exactly like me, that is not the goal of this blog. I merely want to show you what I have found that has renewed my faith and made me yearn to grow more. I want to show you what, ultimately, I believe Jesus taught about himself (read John). When you start to peel back this onion, you will see the many layers of truth and shed tears of joy when you realize how in control the father really is. I know that was corny, but I'm trying here. And you can trust in his character that he reveals through his "God-breathed" word. I know some people have seen nasty examples of reformed Christians before too, or any other kind for that matter. If you love looking down your nose at people, as a christian, then you probably didn't enjoy this very much and that makes me happy. But I don't think that I am better than you. If you believe what scripture says about unconditional election then you absolutely will be humbled and brought low, because you cannot boast an ounce in your own salvation. I always say reformed Christians should be the most humble; this is why.

God is love. He is holy, righteous, and full of mercy. I want to show you the many attributes of the character of God, because I fear that much of modern evangelicalism only portrays one (good or bad extreme). I want to end with this amazing quote from Charles Spurgeon, the late pastor from the 1800's in England, who was dubbed the prince of preachers. People asked him how he reconciled verses in the bible that seemed to teach anyone could come to Christ, and the verses that seemed to say God has an elect people. He

answered soundly, "I am quite certain that God has an elect people, for he tells me so in his word. And I am equally certain that everyone who comes to Christ shall be saved, for that also is his own declaration in the Scriptures. When people ask me how I reconcile these two truths, I usually say that there is no need to reconcile them, for they have never yet quarreled with one another. (V.56, p.631; C.H.S.) This is because they are the same people given to the father before eternity. How amazing! Next time we will talk about limited atonement, the most controversial point for most people in the acrostic "TULIP". Grab some popcorn. Rest easy, fam. Thank you for your time! I hope you were challenged, encouraged, informed, and blessed. Until, next time, this is Blake singing out!

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page